“How I Met My “Sweetie”…Tomorrow Sorry!

“Today I begin to understand what love must be, if it exists. . . . When we are parted, we each feel the lack of the other half of ourselves. We are incomplete like a book in two volumes of which the first has been lost. That is what I imagine love to be: incompleteness in absence”. Edmond de Goncourt (1822-96) and Jules de Goncourt (1830-70), French writers. The Goncourt Journals (1888-96; repr. in Pages from the Goncourt Journal, ed. by Robert Baldick, 1962), entry for 15 Nov. 1859.

That is how it is with my “sweetie”, a feeling of something missing when we’re not together. She is my life, my breath, every other beat of my heart. And the longer we’re together, the stronger and deeper the love grows. I love her more today than the first day I realized I was in love with her. Every day she grows more beautiful, if that’s possible.

But to tell the story properly, I need a bit of uninterrupted time. Today, I spent the day painting, cleaning, organizing, and getting matching hangers for our clothes closet. It was an all day job. And then I put up all the pictures and decorations in the bathroom, which was recently painted a beautiful caramel. We’re waiting for a friend to do window treatments, but also had all the grout cleaned last week so everything looks wonderful.

When I showed her the result, she was “speechless”, literally, which doesn’t happen. At all. So in giving her the gift of a lovely bathroom and closet, as well as lots of clothes and hangers for the yard sale, I didn’t have the time to do my blog post for you today.

Please forgive me so that I can give you the “full story” tomorrow. It’s sweet, very romantic, and worth the wait, I promise.

So tomorrow, same bat time, same bat channel…

Leave a Reply

